“My mushroom foraging experience with Shaggy Jack was second-to-none. I learned so much in a single day and I’ve been enjoying Lobster mushrooms, Pines and Chanterelles in my meals more than I’d like to admit.” – Rich U.

[Workshop] Shaggy Jack’s Wild Mushroom Foraging for Beginners

fungus-1194380_1920

By attending this workshop you’ll feel comfortable to go foraging with a guidebook and be able to identify safe-to-eat mushrooms that you can forage and cook at home.

We will start with a learning component indoors so you can learn the keys to identifying mushrooms that are safe to eat and which are poisonous (this is critical!).

Then we will head outside for a short foraging excursion so you can learn in real-time how to forage correctly. This is a rewarding skill that lasts a lifetime.

Workshop Agenda

Part 1: Introduction To Mushroom Identification

3.5 Hour Classroom Presentation

Shaggy Jack gives beginners a crash course slideshow presentation in mushroom foraging, teaching the basics of mushroom life cycles & ecology, how to safely identify & pick mushrooms, how to recognize & target mushroom habitats, what resources are needed for mushroom picking, & introduces students to a wide variety of common edible, medicinal & toxic mushroom species found on the Sunshine Coast and the West Coast of BC, with tips on identifying, harvesting, processing & cooking specific species.

Part 2: Forest Foraging Excursion

2.5 Hour Forest Walk

For the second part of the class, Shaggy Jack takes students on a field trip to one of his favorite mushroom picking spots to identify & forage for mushrooms in their natural forest habitat. This gives students hands-on experience picking mushrooms and applying the knowledge they learned in the class while Shaggy Jack helps students identify mushrooms and answers their questions. Students get to take home a variety of wild edible mushrooms to try out in their kitchens.

COVID-19 Class Protocols

Due to the Province of British Columbia Public Health Orders, the classroom portion of the Wild Mushroom Foraging For Beginners workshop will be held via Zoom this year. There will be one in-person class held this year on Saturday October 30th as part of the MushrooMania festival, and attendees to the in-person event will be subject to Public Health Order regulations for events due to it taking place at the Gibsons Public Market, which may include wearing masks and showing vaccine passports. The outdoor forest excursion portion of the workshop is not currently subject to the same restrictions. Depending on the trajectory of infectious cases in the Vancouver Coastal Health region, Public Health Orders are subject to change, and Shaggy Jack’s Wild Mushrooms is required by law to follow any and all restrictions and guidelines. Registered students will be notified in advance of any changes that may impact the workshops. Please refer to the Province of British Columbia COVID-19 restrictions website for more information.

Registration

For the 2021 Workshop Season, due to COVID-19 restrictions, we have moved our classroom portion of the workshop to Zoom, with the only in-person classroom presentation happening at the MushrooMania Festival on October 30th.

To register for your class, please do the following:
(1) select a date for a Zoom class, register and pay
(2) when you receive your confirmation email, reply to Shaggy Jack and let him know which date you prefer for the Forest Foraging Excursion. *NOTE:* Please check your spam folder if you have not received an email reply in your inbox.

The way the workshop is designed, Shaggy Jack makes it mandatory for participants to take the classroom portion of the workshop first, before going out on a Forest Foraging Excursion: it is essential that students have a grounding in basic mushroom foraging knowledge before going into the forest to pick mushrooms. Students may choose any Excursion date following a Zoom class.

Please contact me if you have any questions or issues with registration @ shaggyjackswildmushrooms@gmail.com

Schedule

Cost: $75/person + Group Discounts
$60/person MushrooMania Festival special price
$35.person Zoom class only

Zoom Classes

Thursday Sep 23 7:00-10:30 pm
Thursday Sep 30 7:00-10:30 pm
Thursday Oct 7 7:00-10:30 pm
Thursday Oct 14 7:00-10:30 pm – SOLD OUT!
Thursday Oct 21 7:00-10:30 pm
MushrooMania Festival In-Person Class Saturday Oct 30 9:00-12:00
Thursday Nov 4 7:00-10:30 pm
Thursday Nov 11 7:00-10:30 pm
Thursday Nov 18 7:00-10:30 pm

Forest Foraging Excursions

Friday Sep 24 9:00-11:30 am
Saturday Sep 25 9:00-11:30 am
Saturday Oct 2 9:00-11:30 am
Saturday Oct 9 9:00-11:30 am
Saturday Oct 16 9:00-11:30 am
Sunday Oct 17 9:00-11:30 am
Saturday Oct 23 9:00-11:30 am
Sunday Oct 24 9:00-11:30 am
MushrooMania Festival Sunday Oct 31 9:00-11:30
MushrooMania Festival Sunday Oct 31 12:00-2:30
Saturday Nov 6 9:00-11:30 am
Sunday Nov 7 9:00-11:30 am
Saturday Nov 13 9:00-11:30 am
Sunday Nov 14 9:00-11:30 am
Saturday Nov 20 9:00-11:30 am
Saturday Nov 27 9:00-11:30 am

Wild Mushroom Foraging Excursions

Join Shaggy Jack for a fully immersive 5 hour forest mushroom identification & foraging experience. Students will have the opportunity to forage for some of the Coast’s most popular edible mushrooms, including matsutake (pine) & chanterelles, as well as lesser-known exotic mushrooms, in productive forest sites, as Shaggy Jack hunts for edibles for the market.In addition to the dates available below, custom dates for groups of two or more people.

Cost: $90/person + Group Discounts (Minimum 2 People)

Sunday Oct 3 9:00-2:00
Sunday Oct 10 9:00-2:00
Monday Oct 11 9:00-2:00
Friday Oct 15 9:00-2:00
Friday Oct 22 9:00-2:00
Saturday Nov 6 12:00-5:00
Sunday Nov 7 12:00-5:00
Thursday Nov 11 9:00-2:00

These excursions are best suited for intermediate mushroom pickers who have some experience hunting for mushrooms – it is recommended that beginners take the Wild Mushroom Foraging For Beginners class to get a good foundation in mushroom identification.

mushrooms-cooking-33
mushrooms-2048415_1920

Forage To Feast

Mushroom Foraging & Forest Cookout Adventure

Join Shaggy Jack and chef/forager Benjamin Berwick of Dachi in Vancouver as they take you on a unique foraging journey that concludes with a special mushroom-themed meal prepared by Chef Ben in the Mt. Elphinstone forest with mushrooms you foraged yourself! Learn about foraging from Shaggy Jack and how to cook with wild mushrooms from Chef Ben as they share their expertise in this magical journey through the Coastal rainforest. Enjoy your gourmet wild mushroom meal complemented by locally farmed, foraged or fished foods and locally-produced craft beverages.

Cost: $125/person + group discounts (Minimum 2 People)

Tuesday Oct 5 12:00-5:00
Wednesday Oct 6 12:00-5:00
Tuesday Oct 12 12:00-5:00 – SOLD OUT
Wednesday Oct 13 12:00-5:00
Tuesday Oct 26 12:00-5:00
Wednesday Oct 27 12:00-5:00
Tuesday Nov 2 12:00-5:00
Wednesday Nov 3 12:00-5:00
Tuesday Nov 9 12:00-5:00
Wednesday Nov 10 12:00-5:00

Graduate Workshops & Foraging Adventures

Students who have previously taken workshops with Shaggy Jack are given Graduate discounts!

Wild Mushroom Foraging For Beginners
Take the full class again to refresh your knowledge of mushrooms
$60/person – save $15 off the regular price
$25/person – Zoom class only
$35/person – Beginners Forest Excursion – 2.5 Hours

Wild Mushroom Foraging Excursion
$75/person + Group Discounts (Minimum 2 People) – 5 Hours
save $15/person off the regular price

To register, choose from the available dates in the workshops and excursions scheduled above, and then contact Shaggy jack via email at shaggyjackswildmushrooms@gmail.com to arrange payment.

0